advocate for feeding natural

For the dog owners out there feeding dried food (kibble) or tinned or wet food, I have a challenge for you. Go out into the interweb and find out what is in the food you are feeding your dog. Dont read the packaging because it tells you nothing, find out what actual meat and other ingredients is in your dog or cat for that matter, food. Then tell me you want to continue feeding you beloved pet on a diet which is equivelent to a life on junk food.

Some great books to read, Raw Meaty Bones by Tom Lonsdale and Give Your Dog a Bone by Dr Ian Billingshurst, both authors have veterinary backgrounds so they are sound reads, if not a little in depth some times.

Here is an article in the Daily Mail at the beginning of last year about Pet Foods

I have posted part of the article on my blog but you can read the whole thing and many more like it online.

I have been feeding my 2 older dogs raw food for the past 4 years. I started off to see if I could clear up Solo’s dandruff and Bracken would constantly be scratching her belly but she had been deflead and wormed and I’d tried all kinds of things like aloe vera to try and calm it down. Nothing worked and I had been researching into raw feeding for a few months by then so I decided to just take the plunge and start them on raw chicken! EEK!

They took to it like ducks to water, chewing and gnawing away! I meanwhile watched them like hawks to make sure they wouldn’t choke or start screaming in agony, but no, nothing happened and they loved it. And there was a bonus I wasn’t aware of at the time which was there was less to pick up after them. No smelly, sticky or slimey poo. Just nice little firm odourless pieces which were easily and quickly picked up without the aid of a shovel! Bonus!

So when Luna entered the household she was immediately changed onto a raw diet, one mishap at the beginning where she tried to ‘inhale’ a chicken wing, she screamed, I gave her a heimleck and that was that, she chewed everything slowly from there on in.

My boy Rudi though, he is the star carnivore! He started his natural diet on chicken wings and drumsticks at 8 weeks old and he will eat anything you put down in front of him. The others can be fussy sometimes of something new like rabbit or organ meat but this boy, if it was edible , he’d eat it. It was all new to me feeding a puppy raw as all the rest were adults when I changed over, so I had some nervous moments but I leaned on my raw feeding friends and I have to say he is growing into a very healthy, happy Springer. His coat is silken and odourless, he’s lean and muscular and he had all his adult teeth through by 7 months when most dry food fed pups are only half way there with the change from puppy teeth to adult munchers. Then he could really tackle the bigger bones too, like on the turkey drumsticks and the lamb necks and ribs. I love feeding them their natural diet, the one nature intended them to eat and they love it too and I haven’t had to take them to the vet in so long, I think their health speaks for themselves.

I’ll write more on this soon but have to go get their dinner out of the freezer!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “advocate for feeding natural”

  1. Clare Boyle says :

    Fantastic blog and am going to share this with my friends and clients!!! Keep up the really good work as I love learning more about BARF 🙂

Leave a Reply

